You’re just not the one for me

I haven’t finished any books lately because the last 2 books I’ve started to read have been boring/annoying/unimpressive.

First, I tried to read Strange Piece of Paradise by Terri Jentz; a memoir discussing her being attacked by a man with an axe. Sounds interesting, right? Well it would be if it wasn’t almost 800 pages long. Yes, I want to know the details of the attack, how she dealt with it, and her mission to find the man. No, I do not want to wait 110 pages for this stuff to begin, just for it to be repeated over and over (this is what a reviewer on Good Reads said). I gave up after 150 pages. As deranged as it sounds, I really wanted to read the details of the attack, and I wanted her to find her attacker. But again, I’m not that interested that I want to commit to 800 pages.

The second book I attempted to read this week/weekend was recommended to me. It was Salem Falls by Jodi Picoult. Normally, I devour a Jodi Picoult book like it’s my day job. This one however angered me. Maybe it was the topic, and the way she wrote about it. Maybe it was the overload of characters, jumping back and forth in time. I don’t know. What I do know, is 130 pages in, I stopped. Salem Falls is about a man who is charged with sexually assaulting a minor. This fifteen year old girl who is in love with the man, Jack, accuses him of it. Why? Maybe to get his attention? I don’t know. But when she realizes he’s going to go to jail for it, she tries to take it back. Not an easy feat. Anyway, he plea bargains, gets out of jail, and moves to you guessed it, Salem Falls. He falls in love, the fact that he’s a convicted sex offender gets out, people harass him, and some little witch girl begins to fall in love with him. That’s all I got out of it and I could see where this little witch was going with her crush. Give the poor man a break!(End rant).

So this is why my list has not been added to recently. Have you read either of these books? If so what did you think?

Leave a Reply

