100 Books in 2012: #16

I just finished The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields. I’m still not sure how I feel about the book. It was a fictional autobiography of a woman born in 1905. It is divided into important chapters of her life (birth, marriage, work, illness, etc). When I first started this book, I couldn’t put it down, but as I got past the middle into the second half of the book, it kind of slowed down. It isn’t a very exciting book, it kind of just tells you about her ordinary life, no fancy Hollywood lights or adventures. If you enjoy memoirs, or like reading books from the early 1900’s I’d suggest this for you because it was intriguing to read about her life and how some things were done in that time.

Leave a Reply

