100 Books in 2012: #24

I just finished A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah. It was extremely captivating. It’s essentially about his life as a child soldier in Sierra Leone, and the rehabilitation process he went through in order to live a normal life. The tales he told were heart wrenching, and I couldn’t stop reading. I used every single break I had to finish the book. I kind of expected there to be more talk about the actual war experiences, and him killing people (don’t get me wrong, I’m happy there wasn’t!) but the child soldier part of the book was quite brief. Instead he focused on his reintegration into “normal” life and the struggles he endured.

This is definitely a book everyone should read, as it makes you so much more grateful for your own life and lets you learn about the struggles millions of children across the world. It was heartbreaking. Definitely a must read!

Now I’m starting Before I go to Sleep by S.J. Watson so can’t wait to sit down and read!!!

Do you have any suggestions for memoirs?

Leave a Reply

