100 Books in 2012: #29

Tweak by Nic Sheff tells the story of Nic Sheff’s addiction to Methamphetamine. Nic Sheff’s father, David Sheff, also wrote this story from his point of view titled, Beautiful Boy. Unfortunately, I read Beautiful Boy before reading Tweak. I feel like this may have made me a little biased. There were times when I could feel myself becoming disgusted by Nic Sheff and I would feel myself feeling more for the father than for Nic. I kind of wish I had read Tweak first and gotten Nic’s point of view, then read Beautiful Boy and hear about the father’s point of view.

What I really enjoyed about this book was the way it was written. Rather than splitting it into regular chapters, Nic Sheff wrote it as a diary, splitting the writing up by the day (day 1, day 45, etc.).I also enjoyed how in-depth Nic went when he described things, or told you about certain events. I think if he had spared us the gory details the book would not have felt as real and you wouldn’t have been able to connect and feel for him as much.

Throughout the book I definitely rode an emotional roller coaster.  When Nic Sheff was sober, I felt so elated and happy for him, that I would get myself in the mindset “he’s finally done it! He’s sober!” But then when he would hit rock bottom again and again, I became so annoyed that I wanted to reach through the book and smack him. Other times, for example, when he started to become more narcissistic, I was so disgusted by him that it was hard to keep reading.

All in all, this is an amazing book. The only thing I can recommend is to read Tweak by Nic Sheff before you read Beautiful Boy by David Sheff and hopefully you won’t feel an bias like I did.

Have you read this book? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “100 Books in 2012: #29

  1. I think I may check this out now just because of the similarities I see with the amazing trilogy by Ellen Hopkins. i wonder if you’ve read those? “Crank”, “Glass” and “Fallout”. Thanks for the suggestions, they sound great.

Leave a Reply

