The Bullying Era

Last week Canada lost another beautiful teenager. The story of Amanda Todd has gone viral, and for good reason. In recent years, too many young adults and children have ended their lives. The common denominator? Bullying. Like many, I too have been a victim of bullying, and know how it feels.  In my “era” of high school, bullying wasn’t online. People could escape the bullying on weekends and after school. Now though, there is no escaping, people will find you, whether it be Facebook, Twitter, or email, they will find you. Too many people have experienced or are currently experiencing bullying, this is getting outrageous. Just this week, Canada’s Senate has started to discuss the issue. They too now realize that bullying is out of control.

I’ don’t want you to think that I’m saying it’s okay to end your life when you are being bullied, and I’m not saying that many people get bullied to the same extent as Amanda Todd, or Jamie Hubley who ended his life last year. What I am saying is that too many people are being pushed to their mental limits  and too many people are suffering. This needs to end. Now.

Bullying is not okay. So many people say this, yet we all still continue to put people down, talk behind people’s backs, and ‘jokingly’ tease people. While this is not bullying by definition, it still doesn’t make that person feel good and it could very easily snowball into much more than a snide comment. I’m just as guilty of this as everyone else, don’t get me wrong, but today, I’m going to do my part to end bullying. I will try to discuss problems face to face, I will avoid talking behind people’s backs, I will work on not teasing people, I will try to compliment people. Today, I say no to bullying!

Will you take your pledge to end bullying? What will you work on?

R.I.P. to all the beautiful lost souls.

Leave a Reply

