100 Books in 2012: #32

While I was away I picked up Songs of the Humpback Whale by Jodi Picoult at a thrift shop. It was not my favourite Jodi Picoult book to say the least. While I did enjoy the story itself, I didn’t like how the narrators jumped around from present to past and back. It was nice to have the story for all 5¬†protagonists. However, occasionally I found myself pausing to determine where in the story I was when I switched characters. It was a little too busy for my liking.

Jodi Picoult is very good at making you love and hate characters though. I despised Oliver the entire book, when his chapters came up, I found myself rolling my eyes and powering through it. I usually don’t hate characters that much, honestly! On the other hand, I adored Hadley. I found Joley quite incestuous and didn’t really like how obvious, but downplayed it was. If it had been a key part to the story I wouldn’t have cared, but since it didn’t really seem to have much to do with Jane’s story (aside from their sibling closeness), I found it annoying.

Have you read this book? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

