100 Books in 2012: #34

I actually won this book on Twitter a while ago but hadn’t gotten around to reading it until now. The author was so sweet, she sent me a copy of the book, a nice bookmark and a lovely little card!

In Leah’s Wake by Terri Long Giuliano was an interesting book. It revolves around a teenage girl who goes from perfect little soccer player to exploring sex, drugs, and alcohol. The story is told from all 4 family members (mom, dad, Leah, sister) and is about their different ways of coping with Leah (and Leah coping with her new lifestyle.) I found it a very easy, but compelling read. I honestly couldn’t put it down. I definitely developed a love/hate relationship with Leah, at times I thought she was being a complete dumbass, while other times my heart strings were tugged.

I didn’t really like reading from all 4 sides of the story, while it added more depth to the characters, I sometimes found it a little difficult to  know when the narrators switched (especially in the middle of a chapter). I’m beginning to think I don’t like books with multiple narrators (see book 32 post!)

I really liked how the ending was not completely expected. While parts of it were, there was a nice little twist in there! You should read this book.

Leave a Reply

