100 Books in 2012: #36

Rather than study, I’ve spend the last 2 days with my nose in The Likeness by Tana French. First, let me tell you how much I love this author. This is the second book I’ve read by her (I just ordered a 3rd one) and honestly, they are so well written and so captivating that I wish I could just read her books forever! This one was almost 700 pages, and I raced through it in a matter of days!

Anyway, so this book is a mystery/suspense novel, taking place in Ireland. The detective, Cassie, goes undercover in hopes of solving the murder (of the character she is pretending to be.) Tana French develops such great characters, that by mid-book, you don’t want any of the suspects to be guilty. They are all just so amicable. Also, I actually had no idea who actually did it until they finally confessed. How’s that for suspense!?

I forgot that I’d promised my stepmom I would finish reading A new kind of Monster by Tim Appleby before I saw her again. I see her on Sunday, sooooo this means I have to power through the book so she can read it. Wish me luck! For those of you who don’t know about this book, it’s the “secret and chilling life” of Russell Williams (he’s a pretty famous name now in Ontario, maybe not so much elsewhere), he was charged with 2 murders, as well as I think 100 break-ins where he stole panties, bras, etc. P.s. He was a Base Commander for the Canadian Armed Forces at the time. Now, they’ve revoked that status, burned his uniforms, and shredded his medals.

Leave a Reply

