A Healthier Lifestyle

Sorry I’ve been so MIA lately, back to school kicked my butt! So…. I leave for Dominican Republic in just over 3 weeks (wooo first all inclusive trip!), and I want to be beach body ready/I want to change what I eat. I am a hugeeeeeeeeee junkie. I have a giant sweet tooth,I honestly can’t resist anything. Luckily  my metabolism is high so I don’t pack on the pounds, but I know that you can be skinny fat, where you look skinny but are unhealthy on the inside. Hence my decision to change my eating style. I want to focus on drinking more water, avoiding juices (sugary ones), eat more veggies, less chips, and more non-processed foods.

Last week I discovered this fairly healthy treat: Kale Chips! I’ve seen kale on the Food Network numerous times, but had never seen it or tasted it in real life. When my boss mentioned how they melted in your mouth, I couldn’t resist trying them! They’re super easy to make (about 5 mins) and are high in fiber, iron, calcium, vitamins A & C. Talk about power food!  What I do is drizzle a little olive oil on leaves ripped into bite size pieces (as little oil as possible) and then sprinkle a little bit of salt and a little bit of garlic powder, just enough to give them some extra flavour. Next throw em in the oven at 350C for about 5 mins or so, take them out and check if they’re crispy. Once they’re crispy (but not burnt!) Pull em out and enjoy!

kale chips

I want to eat a lot more healthy snacks, and maybe get into smoothies a little bit for breakfast or something. What kind of healthy snacks do you enjoy?

Leave a Reply

