To Paleo or not to Paleo

After reading this post, I became interested in the Paleo lifestyle. I’d heard about it before when a friend tried it, but she couldn’t quite commit. After researching more about being Paleo, I realized it’s just not something I can 100% commit to right now. I’m not making excuses! One of my part time jobs is in a family home, where I am making whatever food my boss has left out for me to make. Also, I still live at home and when my mom comes home on weekends, I tend to eat whatever she cooks, although during the week I could probably cook Paleo for myself. Lastly, there are some food items I’m just not quite ready to part with yet (okay, so this one may be a little bit more of an excuse). For these reasons, I don’t think I can fully commit, but it sounds like a good way of eating.

Instead, I’ve decided to make a few little lifestyle changes that coincide with Paleo but that are more feasible at this point in my life.

1) Cut out sugar – this includes in my coffee and tea, which I started today. Also, no sugary juices, candy, chocolate, etc.
2) Eat more veggies – increase the veggies in each meal.
3) Cut out grains – no more bread, rice, pasta! This one is going to be a lot harder to do, as most meals that I can quickly make involve one or more of these.
4) Decrease dairy products – I’m still stuck on whether I need to take calcium supplements if I do this (does anyone know?) I just really love greek yogourt so this one is going to be tough.

Have you gone Paleo? Would you try it?

On a completely different note, my brother got sworn into the Canadian Armed Forces today, and leaves for basic training next week. I’m so proud of him!

 

Leave a Reply

