A Complicated Kindness

I took a lazy day off of school today, in hopes I’d get a chance to relax and do some work I’ve been putting off. I did manage to relax for most of the day and even forced myself to workout for an hour, however, the work I was supposed to get done? Well, this should sum up my day for you:

The work that should be done

What I should have been doing all day.

What i actually did

What I actually did all day (notice the page number, I only started this book last night)

I actually started this book a few years ago and just couldn’t get into it, so I put it back on my shelf. I’m really glad I picked it up again. First of all, I love the fact that it’s Canadian. Second, I feel that the protagonist is very realistic, she’s just trying to find her way in a world that doesn’t understand her.  It’s especially interesting because she lives in a Mennonite community and after having both her mother and sister disappear, she struggles to survive and fit into a culture her father whole-heartedly believes in and she is beginning to question. Although she jumps from the past to the present often, you can easily understand what she’s talking about and why.    Have you read A Complicated Kindness? What did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

