“Not leaving: an act of trust and love, often deciphered by children”

I  just finished reading The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. It’d been sitting on my shelf forever, but after seeing a few different bloggers rave about it, I decided it was finally time to pick it up and give it a chance. I was captivated from the start. I stayed in the bathtub until long after the water had gone cold reading this.

I especially like how it is told from the point of view of death, who comes into contact with the book thief (Liesel) a few different times. The way it’s written is really interesting, I guess that could be because it’s technically a young adult book. Anyway, I love love love this book!

I know I just keep rambling on and on about this book, but its very rare that I finish a book and just sit there, relishing the book. You need to read this book!

The book is like an onion, there are so many little stories and minute details that layer and weld together to define the characters and give them the depth that makes you fall in love with them. At thw beginning I wondered why there were so many asides, but eventually I came to look forward to them, that little detail that makes you feel like an insider, like you’re part of the story.

image
Just my cat and a book.

image

2 thoughts on ““Not leaving: an act of trust and love, often deciphered by children”

  1. I’ve seen this book mentioned on a blog or two that I follow. I think I’m going to have to add it to my “to-read” list. It sounds like a book that would grab me from the start!

Leave a Reply

