Link up #2!

fRelLV1This week’s link up asked us to list the 5 books that we think every young woman needs to read. It took me a little while to think about which books impacted me the most as a young woman, and which ones would have the same impact on others as well.

1) Go Ask Alice – Anonymous (Beatrice Sparks)

go ask alice

I read this book years ago, when I was just beginning high school. It’s a book that most teens can relate to, the trouble in high school, drugs (the presence of them), mean girls, and so forth. It kind of tells you what  not  to do in real life. The story is somewhat horrific, but an eye opener, especially for those headed down a dangerous path.

2) Gone with the Wind – Margaret Mitchell

Gone_with_the_Wind

I’ve loved this book forever, Scarlett O’Hara is such a strong-headed woman, I think every young woman should look up to her.

3) The Bluest Eye – Toni Morrison

the-bluest-eye

This heart-wrenching book can help you realize that society’s idea of beauty isn’t always right. Everyone is beautiful in their own way, and should not have to have blue eyes and blonde hair to be deemed beautiful.

4) Lucky – Alice Sebold

LuckybyAliceSebold

I’m beginning to see a depressing pattern with my books.. This book is the author’s memoir. She tells the story of her being raped, how she survived, and how it changed her life.

And last but not least…

5) Love my rifle more than you – Kayla Williams

loverifle more

This American’s soldier’s memoir is so empowering.

What books have changed your life?

wpid-picmonkey-collage.jpeg

8 thoughts on “Link up #2!

  1. I totally forgot Go Ask Alice. Great book and awesomely written. I read that in high school as well. It seems like many bloggers enjoyed Alice Seabold’s Lucky, so it looks like I’ll be reading that soon. :)

  2. The book which had the single-most profound impact on me was Mary Wollstonecraft’s “A Vindication of the Rights of Woman”. If I was going to write a thesis, it would be on that book.

  3. Thanks for sharing! There are so many great choices and definitely an overlap over other ladies’ choices- so many books that I need to read! I’ve never heard of Love My Rifle More Than You, but being in the military myself, I appreciated seeing a military-themed book on empowerment for women :)

Leave a Reply

