“But what are our stories if not the mirrors we hold up to our fears?” – Wally Lamb

This past weekend was a long weekend here in Canada. I spent the first half of the weekend working, then relaxed the rest. I saw the new Star Trek movie (amazing! You need to watch it!), reading and enjoying the half decent weather.

I finished the saga that is I Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb. It is an amazing read. Yes, it is very long, ending after 900 pages, and it can be somewhat slow, but I would describe it more as elaborate than slow. There is a story within the story, with one story jumping back and forth from the future and the past. Dominick is such a well-rounded character, that I felt like I grew up with him and Thomas (his brother.) Throughout the book, I felt that I knew all the intricate details of their lives, that I was a member of their social circle.

This book makes you smile, makes you cry, and it makes you so angry you want to throw the book. This book is so well written, that 900 pages doesn’t seem like enough. I don’t know what else to say without ruining the book, but for those of you who have never heard of this book, it tells the story of twin brothers, one with schizophrenia. One day, the twin with schizophrenia chops off his hand. The story continues and describes the “normal” brother’s reaction and quest to get the proper care for his brother, all the while trying to deal with his own inner demons and find out who their father was. READ IT!!

I almost finished a second book this weekend, that I received from my lovely book swap partner. I have about 40 pages left. 1940 by Jay Neugeboren is the story of Hitler’s doctor, who receives special treatment and moves to America. It’s somewhat of a slow story, written from two different points of view, but it is very intriguing, and I can’t wait to see how it ends.

wpid-picmonkey-collage.jpeg

One thought on ““But what are our stories if not the mirrors we hold up to our fears?” – Wally Lamb

Leave a Reply

